Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 11, 2018
    100
    DUSK is a devilishly good game. It will frustrate you, yes, but that’s the point. The game wants you to claw at victory and feel as though you’ve actually accomplished something when you obtain it.
  2. Dec 10, 2018
    95
    This is shooter perfection and something fans of the classics need to experience. Maybe it doesn't redefine what is possible with video games, but it beats out basically every other shooter I've ever played. I know I'll be replaying this for years to come and I look forward to seeing what fans are capable of with mod tools.
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    92
    It’s the closest you’ll get to that feeling of shooters from yesteryear, and you’d do yourself a disservice as a shooter fan by missing it. Buy Dusk. Beat Dusk. Then ramp up the difficulty or dive into the Endless mode or multiplayer to get your fill. It’s been too long, my friend. Far too long.
  4. Dec 31, 2018
    90
    Possibly the best return to the FPS games of the early 90s, DUSK is an excellent homage to a genre and an era that manages to not only recapture but improve on what made those games great.
  5. Dec 18, 2018
    90
    Full of memorable moments, fast-paced action, moody set pieces and surprising narrative twists and turns - Dusk may look like a long-lost gem from 1998, when it’s actually one of 2018’s best.
  6. Dec 14, 2018
    90
    While Dusk is a throwback to an older type of game, it’s excellent in its own right, loaded with content and an absolute blast to tear through from start to finish.
  7. Dec 10, 2018
    90
    DUSK is love story written about 90s FPS games that perfectly encapsulates everything that was great about the genre in the 90s. From the pixilated graphics to the classic weapons and gameplay, DUSK is a must have for any older gamer seeking a taste of childhood nostalgia.
  8. Dec 10, 2018
    90
    Even while calling back to a previous era, Dusk adds on top of those legacies. This is retro first-person shooter perfection, the next evolution in a genre once frozen in time. Long may it reign once again.
  9. Sep 29, 2017
    90
    Dusk has the backwoods setting of Blood and Redneck Rampage, the forbidding atmosphere and murky palette of Quake, the tight, sharp action of Doom, and the subtle sense of place and interactivity of Duke Nukem 3D. Essentially, Dusk is a retro shooter fan’s dream come true.
  10. Jan 11, 2019
    89
    Dusk offers a tribute to old-school shooters with a fantastic level design, frantic gameplay and an excellent OST.
  11. Dec 12, 2018
    89
    A obsessively tuned, finely crafted shooter that more than recreates the speed and pure joy of '90s classics.
  12. Dec 13, 2018
    88
    The first-person shooter has evolved a great deal since Doom popularized the genre in 1993, but, in spite 25 years of innovations, Dusk proves that many of the old tricks still work incredibly well. Dusk might look and feel like a Quake mod, but it's so polished it feels modern. Anyone with even a hint of nostalgia in their bones for classic shooters should dive headfirst into Dusk.
  13. Dec 26, 2018
    85
    The game offers incredible shooting sensations along with great OST and excellent atmosphere. We could have criticized the lack of scenario or the anecdotic multiplayer, but is it really important for this kind of game? We don’t think so…
  14. Jan 4, 2019
    83
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Jan 11, 2019
    80
    Dusk does not reinvent the wheel and has no intention to do so. It offers wonderfully fast-paced and robust first person action that mostly lives up to classics like Doom or Quake. Add some great level design and a bold art style, and you get a retro experience that would have been an instant classic, if it had been released 23 years ago.
  16. Dec 20, 2018
    80
    A fantastic game. More than just a repeat of what has come before, Dusk is its own entity, taking what worked well about classics and boiling those aspects down into a frantic, concentrated burst of action. A wonderful homage to the era where the FPS was king.
  17. Feb 1, 2018
    80
    Dusk's core gameplay is just what you'd expect: a zippy shoot and strafe loop with minimal story and lots of little secrets to find. Lots of games have tried this before, but Dusk realizes that the appeal of those early 90s shooters was largely in the level design and environmental details. They made the worlds seem more real than you might imagine, given their primitive processing. Although it isn't quite yet a complete package (additional chapters are coming later), Dusk comes eerily close to feeling like an undiscovered sibling of the classic shooters.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. All this for £13! Honestly, this is purist FPS as good as it gets, just a constantly stunning game. Don’t miss this. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 81
  2. Negative: 7 out of 81
  1. Dec 12, 2018
    7
    What are the critics smoking? Evolution of genre frozen in time? Ok lets see what we have:
    Game which feels like hd mod of Quake 1/Duke Nukem
    What are the critics smoking? Evolution of genre frozen in time? Ok lets see what we have:
    Game which feels like hd mod of Quake 1/Duke Nukem 3D. So nothing new/special. On one hand it has amazing atmosphere (which is made mostly by awesome sounds and creepy concept of cultists devilish goats scarecrows) on second - its plain ugly. Weapons looks well just awfull. Enemies too. Its fast and fluid like Quake 1 but how is it any better than well Quake 1? It isnt.
    Genre did evolve, we have story packed games with awesome graphics memorable protagonists (even blood had cool Caleb and Duke Nukem 3D - Duke Nukem :D, hell Wolfenstein had Blazkowitch) like Halo, Half Life, Call of Duty, Destiny, Bioshock, Metroid Prime, Wolfenstein, Doom etc. In terms of pure fps mayhem I can compare this to for example recent Shadow Warrior 1/2 or Doom - and Dusk is definitelly worse game than any of them.
    So is it a bad game? No. But without much trouble You can find as good mods to Quake 1 as Dusk is.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2018
    6
    I wanted to love this game, because what not to love here- retro graphics, hordes of demons to kill, great atmosphere and gameplay in the sameI wanted to love this game, because what not to love here- retro graphics, hordes of demons to kill, great atmosphere and gameplay in the same vein as Doom or Painkiller. I was expecting pure fun. But the problem is, when the game is at its best- its fantastic. You see hordes of demons rushing at you, you dance around them, gib them, blood everywhere- it feels fantastic. But these moments are far and between. The rest of game is just tiny brown corridors, boring looking for keys, backtracking, getting lost and not knowing where to go next, no map or any hints to help you. Its just frustrating and not fun. Enemies dont vary much, you just see the same types over and over again.
    I finished episode 1, it was ok. But second is just bad, so many tiny dark maps i just had to force myself to finish it. I hope episode 3 is better, i just dont feel like playing it now, i need a break.
    So yea, mixed feelings. I think id rather play (Brutal) Doom or Painkiller again, than this.
    Still its decent game, and cheap, so if you like retro shooters, try it. Just dont expect wonders.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    DUSK takes the best conventions and clichés of 90s shooters and perfects them for a new century. This game serves as a sort of YingDUSK takes the best conventions and clichés of 90s shooters and perfects them for a new century. This game serves as a sort of Ying counterpart to the Yang of Superhot. While the latter title captured the simple perfection of an under-par shooter run, DUSK captures the wild frenzy of a less disciplined encounter. Modern players may be bewildered by the aesthetic, but the fluidity of the game-play, open-ended level design and the pure thrill of each encounter make this worth a look for younger gamers in addition to those looking for a nostalgia fix. All told DUSK just feels "right." Full Review »