Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 11, 2016
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1618 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,361
Mixed:
138
Negative:
119
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
lennycliff123Nov 11, 2016
As other have commented, Villeneuve is a good director but this is a step in the wrong direction for him. I hate to use the B word {boring}, but Arrival is a real endurance test even for fans of serious, thought provoking movies.
31 of 57 users found this helpful3126
All this user's reviews
1
foxgroveNov 15, 2016
An 'alien' film to leave you totally alienated! This is so self-important and ponderously dull that it makes Ingmar Bergman's depressive dramas seem like comic farces. The screenplay is all **** and pretension in which Amy Adams' languageAn 'alien' film to leave you totally alienated! This is so self-important and ponderously dull that it makes Ingmar Bergman's depressive dramas seem like comic farces. The screenplay is all **** and pretension in which Amy Adams' language specialist amazingly deciphers the black ink vocabulary of the extra-terrestrials in record breaking time. A feat that only ever happens in the movies. The creatures themselves look like a cross between giant squids and an elephant's foot, and it's no exaggeration to state that their presence is underwhelming. The first ten minutes promise much but we never get that film. Instead as soon as the alien pods arrive degeneration in to boredom is immediate and sleep inducingly effective. Praised by the highbrow critics, make no mistake this is alarmingly over rated. A totally confused and uninteresting example of the sci-fi genre. Arrive? It certainly did. However, I couldn't wait to leave! Expand
20 of 37 users found this helpful2017
All this user's reviews
5
ryecaNov 13, 2016
Not great. As others have said, it is slow. Also, it feels like they just did a wikipedia search for "linguistics" and then wrote a script around the first paragraph. I don't see this as a cerebral sci fi film at all. More of a cheesy, slog-fest.
21 of 39 users found this helpful2118
All this user's reviews
4
nuggetmanNov 11, 2016
Denis Villeneuve is a talented and promising filmmaker, 'Prisoners' being an obvious benchmark. While I'm still looking forward to his Blade Runner sequel I have to say Arrival was a huge disappointment. Amy Adams great performanceDenis Villeneuve is a talented and promising filmmaker, 'Prisoners' being an obvious benchmark. While I'm still looking forward to his Blade Runner sequel I have to say Arrival was a huge disappointment. Amy Adams great performance notwithstanding, this was a ponderous, superficially profound movie that ultimately goes nowhere. Expand
33 of 62 users found this helpful3329
All this user's reviews
10
PatrickSousaNov 11, 2016
Just like Villeneuve's other films, this one has proved that he is one of the greatest director nowadays. The way that he approaches a common theme in movies is almost revolutionary.
46 of 88 users found this helpful4642
All this user's reviews
1
shaunmedNov 30, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing here that hasn't been done a thousand times. Simple time loop paradox. If you're looking for a movie about aliens, this is not it. It really has nothing to do at all with aliens. It's a weak tug at heart strings depicting a story about a parent that loses a child. The chemistry between the two main actors is non existent. Just a terrible waste of 2 hours. Expand
15 of 29 users found this helpful1514
All this user's reviews
2
CarribeanDeanNov 12, 2016
boooooring. As a big fan of Sicario and Prisoners i expected better. paint dries more entertainingky than this. like watching a kid draw with an etch a sketch for 2 hours. Even Forrest Whitaker sucked. Jeremy Renner often sucks, no surpriseboooooring. As a big fan of Sicario and Prisoners i expected better. paint dries more entertainingky than this. like watching a kid draw with an etch a sketch for 2 hours. Even Forrest Whitaker sucked. Jeremy Renner often sucks, no surprise there. it felt like they were afraid to wake up the audience. Expand
18 of 36 users found this helpful1818
All this user's reviews
0
fantasyNov 11, 2016
This was on my must see movie list. The movie starts out very slow, then gets slower until finally I started to doze off. The movie makes absolutely no sense. There's no suspense or any action. Other than Amy Adams performance the rest ofThis was on my must see movie list. The movie starts out very slow, then gets slower until finally I started to doze off. The movie makes absolutely no sense. There's no suspense or any action. Other than Amy Adams performance the rest of the cast is nothing as they mailed their parts in. The ending is beyond ridiculous. Avoid unless you have insomnia. You've been warned. Expand
16 of 34 users found this helpful1618
All this user's reviews
3
Tss5078Nov 14, 2016
Arrival is being called one of the best Science Fiction films in years. It is one of the best rated and reviewed films of 2016, and is drawing comparisons to Close Encounters of The Third Kind, but I have a question, did they watch the sameArrival is being called one of the best Science Fiction films in years. It is one of the best rated and reviewed films of 2016, and is drawing comparisons to Close Encounters of The Third Kind, but I have a question, did they watch the same film that I did? I wasn't crazy about Close Encounters, but that movie was leaps and bounds ahead of this one. Twelve alien crafts land in random places all across the planet, and the people are in a panic. Some countries react with hostility, but the U.S. Government decides to act cautiously (yeah right), and send Dr. Louise Banks (Amy Adams), the best linguist they have, to figure out a way to community with the aliens. The aliens, turn out to be giant octopus, whose language turns out to be ink that they squirt into the air. This movie features flashbacks and flash-forwards, that seemingly make no sense, until the end when you finally figure out what they mean and once you do, you realize that you just wasted two hours of your life. If that wasn't bad enough, the film moves at an absolute snails pace, I mean you could take everything that actually happened in the film and squeeze it into about twenty minutes. The rest is just people talking to each other about the same damn thing over and over again. Trying to figure out the same thing over and over again. Worrying about the same things over and over again. The characters have no personality whatsoever, and you might think that it's one of those slow moving weird films that all comes together in an amazing ending, but no, it doesn't. Once you can see the whole picture, as one lady in the theater so eloquently shouted out, "really, that's it, that was so stupid." Her uncontrolled outburst really sums up this entire film. Honestly I think the slower and more artistic a film is, the more the critics love it, but I am one critic who isn't fooled by great actors and emotional music, this isn't the best film of the year, this is the biggest turd of the year, and it should be avoided at all costs! Expand
37 of 80 users found this helpful3743
All this user's reviews
3
gfnyNov 14, 2016
The movie preview showed aircraft flying overhead. This was the only action in the entire movie. A low budget, slow, out of focus movie. Watching paint dry has more action. A rare film that wanted to make me demand my money back.
24 of 52 users found this helpful2428
All this user's reviews
0
LafflixNov 20, 2016
Viewer be warned. Preview contains all the "excitement" of this supposedly "clever" sci-fi movie (very sad). Actually, this has been grossly overhyped by professional film critics. I would like to have my money back if possible. Dark,Viewer be warned. Preview contains all the "excitement" of this supposedly "clever" sci-fi movie (very sad). Actually, this has been grossly overhyped by professional film critics. I would like to have my money back if possible. Dark, slow, incoherent plot that challenge you to stay awake. Tried my very hardest to enjoy this movie, but failed to do so. One film critic graciously rated this as: wait until it comes out in DVD. My vote: skip this movie and spend your hard earned money elsewhere. In summary, I feel scammed by the professional film critics, similar to the many fake reviews on Amazon. Expand
18 of 39 users found this helpful1821
All this user's reviews
0
SSH83Nov 12, 2016
After discussing with a few smart people about this movie. It boils down to this. People LOVE this movie because liberal art saves humanity (it's like how geeks like geek-protagonist stories and feminists like feminist affirmation stories).After discussing with a few smart people about this movie. It boils down to this. People LOVE this movie because liberal art saves humanity (it's like how geeks like geek-protagonist stories and feminists like feminist affirmation stories). All governments and scientists are oblivious, so only liberal art viewers are wise to the truth through their heart-felt interpretations. If my interpretation is different from everyone else's, that must means everyone else is wrong! Liberal art also gets magical power if they remain faithful to their instincts that will effortlessly solve all their problems. Probably the worst deus ex machina ever but good affirmation to trust in your heart/dream and everything will magically go well! Lastly, a movie spends a long time to sell the protagonist as a good hero, only to unwittingly turn her to be a narcissistic psychopath because she is OK with the thing that the most feeling humans would spend every living second to change. So you'd like this movie IFF you like all the glorification/affirmation, so you basically want a disney movie disguised as sci-fi "smart" "adult" film (so you can feel all wide-eyed and happy without the guilt of being immature for getting that from a kid's movie). Then also you're not smart enough to realize everything after the big twist was horrible, so you can eat it all up without wanting to strangle yourself during the movie. Expand
20 of 47 users found this helpful2027
All this user's reviews
5
mrmonsterMar 6, 2017
Tremendously overrated. It is a good movie, and has very good special effects, but it did not deserve a best picture nomination. At best it is forgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
joaodestroyerFeb 19, 2017
This movie a huge disappointment. It's boring, the plot is a joke, and it tries to very deep and philosophical even though by the end of the movie, you don't care about the characters or their troubles. A waste of time.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
In his first foray into sci-fi, Villeneuve's lofty ambitions are as over-calculated as they are under-executed. Arrival is far from the promised humanist thriller, coming across as a wannabee Nolan thinker, only less coherent and moreIn his first foray into sci-fi, Villeneuve's lofty ambitions are as over-calculated as they are under-executed. Arrival is far from the promised humanist thriller, coming across as a wannabee Nolan thinker, only less coherent and more pretentious. After the abominations of Enemy and Sicario, this may just be strike 3 for Denis. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
FrankomanMar 5, 2017
I love sci-fi. From Star Wars to 2001 (my all time fav), Alien, although not so much Aliens, The Abyss, 12 Monkeys, Blade Runner, The Thing, and Gattaca to name but a few, and just to show the range that appeals to me, a sci-fi lover.

So far
I love sci-fi. From Star Wars to 2001 (my all time fav), Alien, although not so much Aliens, The Abyss, 12 Monkeys, Blade Runner, The Thing, and Gattaca to name but a few, and just to show the range that appeals to me, a sci-fi lover.

So far I have read reviews stating Arrival is about big ideas, it's a character study, it's sci-fi for the mind, thought provoking, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Well, that last part was true. I was on the edge of my seat all through the movie, but only because the remote was just out of reach. The rest? Well, I'd like to know what the **** you people were smoking to get anything out of this bilge. I have never, in my life, watched such garbage. A film about nothing. And I got it. I understood it. I know what happened, and why. I just couldn't give a flying ****, about any of them. A pretentious movie, with pretentious Aliens, where nothing happens.

What the **** is happening to people?
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
netflicNov 14, 2016
This is a science fiction movie about aliens visiting our planet. Or rather about attempts the mankind takes trying to establish a contact with aliens.

The movie is done quite professionally, and I liked it's cinematography and sound track.
This is a science fiction movie about aliens visiting our planet. Or rather about attempts the mankind takes trying to establish a contact with aliens.

The movie is done quite professionally, and I liked it's cinematography and sound track.
There are good actors starring there (Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner, Forest Whitaker), and they deliver adequate performance. Most of the movie kept me interested. Sometimes pseudo-philosophical lingo carried me away. I think the movie was too long, and the script has not been thought through, leading to nowhere. Which is a shame, it had a lot of potential.
Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
10
alva3901Jul 4, 2017
Arrival is a beautifully complex film that centres on the role of humanity in this world rather than the "arrivals". With this, the movie brings a new look to the sci-fi genre, as it deals with themes and emotions that many can relate to inArrival is a beautifully complex film that centres on the role of humanity in this world rather than the "arrivals". With this, the movie brings a new look to the sci-fi genre, as it deals with themes and emotions that many can relate to in the modern world. Arrival proves to be one-of-a-kind and one of the best in the genre, not just for pure action or the cliches we tend to see in such movies, but for its creativity and thought-provoking ideas it presents to the viewer. It is a movie that does require utmost attention, however, the experience is truly rewarding, as director, Denis Villeneuve continues his run of exceptional movies. Amy Adams, who plays a linguistic professor, leads the movie with a strong performance, yet playing a vulnerable character who succumbs to the events that unfold. The 'arrivals' themselves are wonderfully designed and their language particularly is a topic in on itself. Crafted with great cinematography and moving music, this was a deserved Oscar-nominated film, and truly one for the ages. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
2
ThermonuclearNov 20, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ultimately a boring yarn that resolves on a 'twist' that a presumed flashback is actually a flash forward.
Dull and ambiguous but lacking in mystery. Flawed.
Expand
11 of 21 users found this helpful1110
All this user's reviews
2
argonsteeleNov 16, 2016
wow. record breaking boring for an alien movie. disappointing from top to bottom. almost unwatchable. pretentious, slow, dry. i seriously thought of asking for my money back on the way out. sheesh.
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
6
CytololNov 11, 2016
This one is getting reviewed higher than I believe it deserves, so I will reply. I love Denis Villeneuve's other movies, and the cinematography and general quality of this one is consistent. We get lost in being too philosophical andThis one is getting reviewed higher than I believe it deserves, so I will reply. I love Denis Villeneuve's other movies, and the cinematography and general quality of this one is consistent. We get lost in being too philosophical and digging for a big philosophical point, but never really finding it, I felt. Simple as that. Expand
12 of 24 users found this helpful1212
All this user's reviews
5
AxgrinderNov 13, 2016
As a “thought-provoking” movie, Arrival is over-rated drivel. Amy Adams is a good actor, and she does yeoman’s work here, but she breaks no new ground. The movie is a “Fail” almost every other level. Forest Whitaker is wooden, and TheAs a “thought-provoking” movie, Arrival is over-rated drivel. Amy Adams is a good actor, and she does yeoman’s work here, but she breaks no new ground. The movie is a “Fail” almost every other level. Forest Whitaker is wooden, and The Notebook like story within a story is lame.

Amy Adams plays Dr. Louise Banks, a linguist, trying to figure out how to speak to aliens that have arrived at earth in dark, giant, scary looking, pods that look like slag. The aliens have no spoken or alphabet based written language. Instead, the aliens converse using ink blots (which look like the stain that a wine glass might leave on a cardboard coaster, and made me wonder if the writer came up with the whole idea while sitting at a bar.) Equally boring and conventional are the aliens. (Why do aliens always seem to have squid-like bodies?)

Dr. Banks is apparently the only gifted linguist left in the world, and the gov’t seeks out her expertise to the exclusion of all others. (Ugh!) Dr. Banks speculates that the aliens are so advanced that they have no apparent way to communicate with humans, and thus it is up to the humans to figure out how to communicate with them. (Groan!) For Kumbaya reasons, the aliens have split the message they want to convey to the people of earth into 12 parts, and use 12 different space craft to deliver it to 12 different populations across the earth. (Ay Yi Yi!) Of course, the reaction of earth people is to go loot Best Buy and then try to blow up the aliens.

There is a story within the story about time travel (Oh no!) and Amy Adams daughter who, we learn early on, has died from some rare disease. This is supposed to give the movie its heart, but when you separate out the two movies halves, neither part has enough weight to give the movie any real substance. As far as director Denis Vileneuve goes, I liked his work in Sicario. Arrival is a step backwards.
Expand
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
5
moviecritic68Nov 16, 2016
Being a sci-fi buff I was anxious to see this film. It was not all I hoped it would be. Repeated scenes over & over lost the interest of the audience as I could feel. The acting was average and the sub plot was difficult to follow. JustBeing a sci-fi buff I was anxious to see this film. It was not all I hoped it would be. Repeated scenes over & over lost the interest of the audience as I could feel. The acting was average and the sub plot was difficult to follow. Just couldn't rate it as some have. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
1
Paperboy17Nov 23, 2016
Took nearly 90 minutes to figure out what this movie was really about. I will never get that time back. This is a love story and about time, with aliens.
I will never get nearly 2 hour of my life back.
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryNov 17, 2016
The aliens have returned. This time in cool-looking, mysterious crafts that hover above the earth in 12 places. Amy Adams is the expert linguist (with a troubled past?) who's brought in to try to establish communications with the mysteriousThe aliens have returned. This time in cool-looking, mysterious crafts that hover above the earth in 12 places. Amy Adams is the expert linguist (with a troubled past?) who's brought in to try to establish communications with the mysterious creatures. This film's concepts for otherworldly design are intriguing, but after seeing the film, the reason for their visit is still hazy. While there's lots of enticing set up, the proceedings move slowly to a repetitive and frustrating crawl before it's over. To make matters worse, the ending may leave you flummoxed. (Some internet research helped explain it.) While the premise is certainly fascinating, the dwindling pace and lack of much tension results in a less-than-satisfying outcome to this untraditional extraterrestrial narrative. Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
6
BikerjamesNov 28, 2016
I don't mind that the film is slow. 2001 is a slow movie and I love every frame of it. This movie is boring at times. I looked at my watch a couple of times. I don't believe we could decipher the complex symbols as quickly as they did,I don't mind that the film is slow. 2001 is a slow movie and I love every frame of it. This movie is boring at times. I looked at my watch a couple of times. I don't believe we could decipher the complex symbols as quickly as they did, and I always have to wonder why super intelligent beings have a hard time learning our language(s). I also felt ZERO chemistry between the two leads. I also thought about the movie "Contact" several times as there is too many similarities. On the positive side, the visuals are striking at times, and Amy Adams is wonderful, as she is in every film she is in. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
7
TheWaffleJan 16, 2017
It's a good movie, but not quite as good as the critics are painting it. The film tries to tie in two big concepts, one about communication, and another about time. In the end those concepts get somewhat muddled and open a number of plotIt's a good movie, but not quite as good as the critics are painting it. The film tries to tie in two big concepts, one about communication, and another about time. In the end those concepts get somewhat muddled and open a number of plot holes that were obvious even on a first viewing, and would be positively glaring on repeat viewings. The atmosphere is great and the acting is spot on, but the film is a bit hampered by a script and plot that starts off strong and then begins to droop towards the end. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
bgrecoFeb 25, 2017
Awful, make no sense, probably one of the worst science fiction movie of all time....boring to death...really, if you want to sleep, watch it....the good press is all wrong ....
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
EludiumQ36Apr 30, 2017
Do you remember why you loved the Matrix trilogy then hated it? It's because it was a love story masking as a kick-ass sci-fi story. Similar thing here, "Arrival" is a love story masking as an alien contact story. I want to rate it a "1"Do you remember why you loved the Matrix trilogy then hated it? It's because it was a love story masking as a kick-ass sci-fi story. Similar thing here, "Arrival" is a love story masking as an alien contact story. I want to rate it a "1" because of its deceit, implausible plot points, and feel-yourself-age pacing but it gets a "3" because of its production values and A-list cast. It also messes with the flow of time, not time travel, but its sequencing. While that's laudable, it can be very confusing and inevitably leaves you feeling "had" or conned story-wise. It's a pretty mess resulting in a waste of 2hrs of your time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
tasslehoff69Feb 17, 2017
I thought the beginning half of the movie was fairly good and I was interested in the story. The ending was so bad it actually made me angry and I yelled at my TV.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
night4Mar 25, 2017
Seriously, just go watch Contact again, because it's way better than this. Arrival is trying to be Contact and it just falls flat.

A male protagonist would have helped. Being less slow would have helped. A better soundtrack would have helped.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxAug 13, 2017
Alors, lapin compris ? je fais comme dans le film, je parle un double langage qui tente de noyer le poisson sous des allures intello-pédantes bien prétentieuses et quelques relents de naïveté bien naïfs ; je secoue le tout au shaker et jeAlors, lapin compris ? je fais comme dans le film, je parle un double langage qui tente de noyer le poisson sous des allures intello-pédantes bien prétentieuses et quelques relents de naïveté bien naïfs ; je secoue le tout au shaker et je balance à l'écran très lentement sous couvert de poésie moralisatrice.

Alors, Amy et Jeremy sont très bien, là n'est pas la question et les effets spéciaux sont judicieusement exploités ; par ailleurs la musique planante qui vous plonge dans une sorte de transe hypnagogique est très relaxante (je crois en fait que le film entier a transformé le peu de matière grise qui me restait en gelée). Mais tout de même, ces extra-terrestres qui ont l'air si avancé sont en vérité tellement cons qu'il faut tout reprendre à partir du cours préparatoire : "té-lé-phone... mai-son..." et bien sûr, ils sont un peu neuneus et durs de la feuille, voire carrément gagas : gentil extra-terrestre, gentil, gentil... ah mais attention aux méchants humains roooo... Denis Villeneuve nous déroule donc sa petite fable écolo béate à deux balles sous Lexomil pendant deux plombes mais nous, on veut sortir de cette mélasse !!

PS
Lapin compris ou pas ??
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Christopher715Feb 16, 2017
I really had high hopes for this movie. While Amy Adams "acted her heart out", this somehow missed the mark. Being a HUGE science fiction/space sf, this was slow and just didn't do much for me. Great concept and not directive, I justI really had high hopes for this movie. While Amy Adams "acted her heart out", this somehow missed the mark. Being a HUGE science fiction/space sf, this was slow and just didn't do much for me. Great concept and not directive, I just didn't find it interesting in the least. Perhaps this had appeal for some, but just didn't do it for this particular viewer. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
ALexA182Feb 19, 2017
How on earth are people giving this boring mess of a movie such high scores? I guess it just tells you have bad the average movie is today. This is a convoluted, boring, poorly acted contrived mess that has neither originality or a realHow on earth are people giving this boring mess of a movie such high scores? I guess it just tells you have bad the average movie is today. This is a convoluted, boring, poorly acted contrived mess that has neither originality or a real story line. Thankfully I saw this on a DVD so I could fast-forward through the plodding mindless scenes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
yvriMar 21, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Extremely slow paced and boring. Could see the ending came a mile away. Everything about the human experience is extremely unlikely when it tries to portray the real world response to first contact. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
RBdave274luvApr 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have watched Arrival four times to find any redeeming qualities to it. I felt the acting was fine but over rated since the movie was so low key and not particularly entertaining. My first problem with it was the way they portrayed the aliens. It is the same old thing, make them look like monsters who have no hands ect., making it totally unbelievable they could build anything to travel anywhere. The movie is more about time than anything else. It is unlike any other movie I have seen so saying there were cliches I found to be inane and won't use that. The soundtrack droned and was very distracting sometimes eclipsing what the actors were saying. The language shown would have been impossible for a linguist to figure out in such a short time. A friend compared it to a Tibetan circle language yet upon investigation, the linguist that created it said nothing about it being anything more than made up. It's a love story in a way but done in a very boring way. I didn't find the movie interesting or thought provoking because the subject matter within it...time isn't linear is old news. Amy Adams did a good job with what she was given but it wasn't much. The movie simply is not entertaining and leaves one with unanswered questions. Unless one is very cerebral this will not be able to hold the attention of most viewers for long. I was very disappointed and have watched hundreds of science fiction movies. I have also read a number of reviews around the net and no one person got the same thing out of this film. Good luck to anyone who tries to sit down and make heads or tails of it without extrapolating on it like most critics have done. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cine1Dec 27, 2016
What initially seems like a sci-fi film about an alien takeover is really the starting point to explore deep themes of unification, connection, and the unique emotional experiences that bridges us as humans beings which transcend time andWhat initially seems like a sci-fi film about an alien takeover is really the starting point to explore deep themes of unification, connection, and the unique emotional experiences that bridges us as humans beings which transcend time and space. A beautiful, moving, and complex exploration of nearly spiritual themes of the human experience. The aliens are really just a way in but it's less about them and more about us. Great movie. Loved it! Expand
13 of 27 users found this helpful1314
All this user's reviews
1
BHBarryNov 12, 2016
“Arrival” stars Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker in this sci-fi drama written by Eric Heisserer based on a novel by Ted Chiang (“The Story of Your Life”). The film was directed by Denis Villanueve who, together with the writer“Arrival” stars Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker in this sci-fi drama written by Eric Heisserer based on a novel by Ted Chiang (“The Story of Your Life”). The film was directed by Denis Villanueve who, together with the writer and the editor, if there was one, must take full responsibility for the 2 hours I wasted watching their product. The movie is slow, confusing and complicated and the scenes float back in time and place without ever clearly indicating what was intended by its creative team. Ms. Adams can do no wrong for she is a talented actor but somehow she got placed in this amateurish attempt at a modern day “ET”. The film is not only a disservice to Ms. Adams’ talent but to the audience that must suffer through the picture as well. I must have looked at my watch at least 5X during the course of the film and, in so doing, found the hands on my timepiece more interesting that that which was being projected on to the screen. What amazes me most is that so many professional critics found this movie to be worthy of their highest rating, again proving that being paid for an opinion doesn’t mean it has value. I give this film a 1.0 rating and if I hadn’t been in the company of my wife and friends, I would have walked out of the theater mid way through it. The only recommendation I can make about this film is to respectfully suggest to Ms. Adams that she hire a new talent agent.. Expand
12 of 25 users found this helpful1213
All this user's reviews
9
PeterAlexanderDec 13, 2016
Arrival is intelligent, dramatic, scary and heartfelt from beginning to end. The main character's quest to understand the mystery behind the alien's purpose is extremely engaging. With each twist and turn the film kept me begging to know more.
11 of 23 users found this helpful1112
All this user's reviews
3
JudNov 15, 2016
I've never seen a movie so tedious and suspenseful at the same time with such a letdown in the end. Although the acting was superb, unless you like art for art's sake, don't bother with this one. The critics really got this one wrong. ItI've never seen a movie so tedious and suspenseful at the same time with such a letdown in the end. Although the acting was superb, unless you like art for art's sake, don't bother with this one. The critics really got this one wrong. It won't answer most of the questions you'll come up with while watching it, including the one that makes the whole story unnecessary: just learn their language the same way your children learn English. Duh! Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
2
safari4me1943Nov 18, 2016
I attended this movie with a friend and we were looking forward to seeing it. When it was over we both looked at each other and asked 'what was that movie about ? The flashbacks to her child and the confusion of future and past events madeI attended this movie with a friend and we were looking forward to seeing it. When it was over we both looked at each other and asked 'what was that movie about ? The flashbacks to her child and the confusion of future and past events made us spend more time trying to figure the scripts meaning. We could not understand the complexity of the movie and what turned the evening into a chaotic movie was truly disappointing and hours later we were still trying to figure it out. If it could have been less entangled with the past, present and future it would have been wonderful. It was a waste of hard earned money. Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
6
patrickk1Nov 26, 2016
Sorry, movies rated 81 are supposed to rock the house. They mailed it in for the last 30 minutes. Stay home, save your money, and watch it on your flat screen.
9 of 19 users found this helpful910
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinNov 30, 2016
I went to see “Arrival” sort of reluctantly because I am not into sci-fi movies with aliens coming to take the world over and a war ensues between the good guys (us) and the Bad (the aliens) and we always win. It was a choice of seeing thisI went to see “Arrival” sort of reluctantly because I am not into sci-fi movies with aliens coming to take the world over and a war ensues between the good guys (us) and the Bad (the aliens) and we always win. It was a choice of seeing this movie or “Rules Don’t Apply” and I am not a fan of Warren Beatty’s and I understand it is really a flop so I decided on “Arrival”.

The main reasons I was interested in seeing “Arrival” was because I am becoming a big fan of Amy Adams and on YouTube I saw a video titled “Arrival Ending Explained” which intrigued me though I didn’t watch it until after I saw the movie.

The first hour of the movie was like watching a foreign language film without subtitles and didn’t hold me interest at all. The second hour with the 12 egg-shaped UFOs all over the world set up the standard them versus us but that isn’t where it goes.

Amy Adams is Dr. Louise Banks, is a language expert, who had a daughter who died at the age of 12, and is called on to help make contact with the aliens who are named Abbot & Costello by the theoretical physicist Ian Donnelly, played by Jeremy Renner, who brings the very rare humor in the movie. They work together in ways not exactly up to what Colonel Weber, (Forest Whitaker) and a CIA agent played by Michael Stuhlbarg want from them.

The film revolves around Adams and Renner with little time for the other actors except for an important cameo by Tzi Ma who plays the Chinese leader though it is Adams who holds your attention every time she is on screen which is through the whole film.

The film is not about them versus us but about time and how it can be looked at in different ways. We see many scenes with the mother and daughter from birth until her death 12 years later and by the ending these scenes all are looked at in a way that we weren’t aware while watching them.

The ending is done subtly by the director Denis Villeneuve and screenwriter Eric Heisserer instead of hammering the audience over the head but I really wished I had watched that YouTube video before I saw the film.

Adams performance is constrained, as it should be, where it could have been melodramatic. When it comes to her what it all is about she calmly accepts and understands what is happening and what happened. Renner is very strong support for her performance.

This is not an ‘entertaining’ film in the sense you can sit back, munch on your popcorn and enjoy aliens invading earth but to which you have to think.

“Arrival” for the most part is a boring film except for the last 15 minutes and I didn’t think the time invested was really worth the first 101 minutes and time is what the film is all about.
Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
2
BringitbackNov 20, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's face it, a story like this hasn't crossed the paths of viewers only once before, right? I thoroughly enjoyed the actors in this production. Kudos for the CGI (thank goodness there was a lot of grays available). Question me this: Why did her hands shake? What was said to make her husband leave? How could she figure out what was being said? Was it "flash back" or flash forward" or "flash sideways"? Why was Costello dying? Why did the story take the audience through the back door (again) to find us at the beginning? Did this happen? Was it going to happen? Did one of the last lines allow us to think that maybe the end results that have been seen will be changed? As for the production: Why were the interiors so dark? To save money. Go NFN whenever possible, right? There are several more questions to ask, but I do not want to actually ask direct questions that no one will answer of this movie. I do not know what movie the other people who commented were watching on this site (and a few others), but the one we just watched is far from being “Oscar” material as one person mentioned. The idea of the visitor… Well, I suppose it was an easy way to “communicate” to the persons portrayed, but come on,really? Did the writers answer any questions? No. There is a whole lot more, but I can easily state (and without reserve), I would rather have watched “Gravity” again. I mean no disrespect to the actors. It should have started and finished. The script was created –middle – “present” – middle – “present”. The comments of those few people who saw the movie today were walking out saying “huh”? There was a chance at the first few scenes to make this a gripping idea. Then...well, we were all inked! Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
3
MightyThorDec 5, 2016
I don't get all the praise heaped on this movie. Maybe if I knew more of what to expect going in, because I expected sci fi/thriller type along the lines of Prometheus and Interstellar. While this movie starts out very promising with a lot ofI don't get all the praise heaped on this movie. Maybe if I knew more of what to expect going in, because I expected sci fi/thriller type along the lines of Prometheus and Interstellar. While this movie starts out very promising with a lot of intrigue about the alien visitors, it soon drags, devolving into a commentary on human existence that really isn't emotionally moving or anything. There is a twist to the movie that was mildly interesting but seemed very copy cat of Interstellar, and then it ended very abruptly. I hated the ending. Basically there was no explanation of the reasoning behind anything and you are left hanging. It's just supposed to make you appreciate your humanity and question your life choices I guess.

The one positive though is the acting throughout is superb. Even the dialogue is fine, just the pacing and ending are awful.
Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
1
magnusgrafexNov 29, 2016
I'm sorry I don't know how this movie got such good reviews. It was dumb dumb dumb and boring. I would describe it as a chick-flick sci-fi movie. Don't bother seeing it and these high reviews are way off. Must be the "different" effect.I'm sorry I don't know how this movie got such good reviews. It was dumb dumb dumb and boring. I would describe it as a chick-flick sci-fi movie. Don't bother seeing it and these high reviews are way off. Must be the "different" effect. Different does not = good. Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
1
0815Dec 2, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Boring, boring, boring....blablabla boring, boring, boring.
DonT waste your money on this **** movie.
The biggest disappointment in cinema history. Better watch "it came from outer space"
Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
2
paulmarsDec 11, 2016
D.O.A.

Sterile, lifeless, dull, drab, uninspiring, anti-climatic, confused, uncharismatic, overrated, unappealing, frustrating, tired, sleep-inducing, unimaginative, cheezy.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
JuakinNov 19, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Typical dead child of cancer (hollywood typical **** the movie tries that you feel sad about the child but you don't get to know her so you don't care, nothing happens in the movie, boring. I want my money and time back. Expand
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
0
NOLAWAYNENov 17, 2016
You know those movies people tell you they like because they want to seem cool. This is one. What a bunch of convoluted goo. Not worth your time. Sicario was awesome this tries to be too mystic and ends up being boring and pretentious.
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
2
anonymous1babyJan 12, 2017
Amy Adams and JR gave good if not great performances, but beyond that there's nothing here to keep a serious sci-fi fan interested. As others have said, it's slow, boring, and intellectually uninteresting.

Ask yourself how a race from the
Amy Adams and JR gave good if not great performances, but beyond that there's nothing here to keep a serious sci-fi fan interested. As others have said, it's slow, boring, and intellectually uninteresting.

Ask yourself how a race from the present or future that is capable of time/interstellar travel can't figure out a few basic languages before they get here? And the needless gravity manipulation? Why not rotate the ship and use a ramp? More goofy parlor tricks to keep the FX folks busy. The time travel wrinkle was just a way to get out of multiple plot dead-ends.

Villeneuve's oooh, ahhh direction is just ridiculous stalling when a better script was necessary.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
Jack97Dec 16, 2016
Arrival offers a vastly different experience than you usually get in the alien invasion genre. By replacing explosions and action with captivating dialogue and conversations, it gives us arguably the most intriguing film of 2016.
10 of 23 users found this helpful1013
All this user's reviews
0
andrelol3Jan 17, 2017
Just a pseudo-intellectual movie. It looks like a intelligent movie, but it really isn't. The plot is stupid, the characters are all stupid, the pacing is terrible and, during the whole movie, NOTHING interesting and smart happens. Hell, IJust a pseudo-intellectual movie. It looks like a intelligent movie, but it really isn't. The plot is stupid, the characters are all stupid, the pacing is terrible and, during the whole movie, NOTHING interesting and smart happens. Hell, I could even say nothing happens in the movie at all...

This is really a hipster movie. It looks different and smart, but is has nothing going for it.
Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
0
pbanjomanDec 8, 2016
Boring, boring, boring. Worst Sci-fi ever. I want my money back!!! This is what you get when a Millennial finds his parents LSD, trips out on it and produces a movie. I fell asleep three times! It is unbelievable, boring, slow, slow, slowBoring, boring, boring. Worst Sci-fi ever. I want my money back!!! This is what you get when a Millennial finds his parents LSD, trips out on it and produces a movie. I fell asleep three times! It is unbelievable, boring, slow, slow, slow and not logical. Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
4
OrionDarkwoodJan 4, 2017
Arrival has some interesting things going for it. However the plot quickly slows to a snails pace with the "flashbacks" going on which caused me more than once to serious consider leaving the movie. The twist at the end helps some but evenArrival has some interesting things going for it. However the plot quickly slows to a snails pace with the "flashbacks" going on which caused me more than once to serious consider leaving the movie. The twist at the end helps some but even that they bang you over the head with like we are idiots and need everything spelled out for us several times. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingJan 11, 2017
Dealing with heady ideas on an intimate scale, Dennis Villenueve's Arrival is an emotionally rewarding, intelligent, beautifully acted and gripping sci-fi film that isn't afraid to dispose of the generic conventions of a modern blockbuster inDealing with heady ideas on an intimate scale, Dennis Villenueve's Arrival is an emotionally rewarding, intelligent, beautifully acted and gripping sci-fi film that isn't afraid to dispose of the generic conventions of a modern blockbuster in favour of a more slow-burning, cerebral take on the arrival of aliens. Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
5
Sh4rk82Nov 13, 2016
Can I be honest? This movie doesn't have any sense? What "precious" message aliens have for the Humanity? after half hour I completely lost interest watching the movie that was turning into a no sense plot. After Indipendece day any otherCan I be honest? This movie doesn't have any sense? What "precious" message aliens have for the Humanity? after half hour I completely lost interest watching the movie that was turning into a no sense plot. After Indipendece day any other Sci-Fi movies has been able to be plausible (for what possible), exciting and with a simple as much as deep story. Disappointed Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
avan1976Dec 9, 2016
The visuals and acting are great. And the initial interactions with the aliens were fascinating. Unfortunately, emotional flashbacks (forwards), which make little sense, are becoming a bit of a cliche for humanizing these kinds of movies. IThe visuals and acting are great. And the initial interactions with the aliens were fascinating. Unfortunately, emotional flashbacks (forwards), which make little sense, are becoming a bit of a cliche for humanizing these kinds of movies. I wish these directors could accept that the geeky aspects are enough to sustain a kick-ass sci-fi movie (if done well). What next: faster-than-light travel powered by a mother's love for her child? Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
3
AeschylusSnNov 14, 2016
Great atmosphere, nice actor playing but script is totally screwed. All characters looks like decoration for one main character and at some dramatic moment people just start laughing.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
6
cgoofiesNov 16, 2016
I went to see this because when I arrived at the theatre Arrival was the only movie that just started. I liked Jeremy Renner in other movies like The Town, so I thought I would watch this one. I was pretty disappointed and could not give moreI went to see this because when I arrived at the theatre Arrival was the only movie that just started. I liked Jeremy Renner in other movies like The Town, so I thought I would watch this one. I was pretty disappointed and could not give more than a 6. It seems he did not get enough acting in and even looked quiet at times like his lines were cut out. I don't see him in a romantic role either and the music was too overwhelming for me. It is an interesting idea but I don't believe the writing was really there, her flashbacks were predictable, and you knew what was going to happen. One of those films basically you know as the ones that rely on the CGI to get the ticket sales which is a losing concept to me. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
6
Redrog1Dec 8, 2016
Sorry but I must have missed something here.... an alien culture that has the intelligence to travel millions of light years to our planet and they rely on us for translation and to communicate?
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
singleroseJan 21, 2017
I continue to think about this movie days after viewing it. Its themes resonated with me and I found it to be thought very provoking as well as very engaging.
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
1
DreadLordAvatarNov 26, 2016
Captivating buildup but the ending is totally disappointing. Horrible, wasted opportunity to entertain - it is a fake sci-fi film packaged as a ridiculous love story. Avoid wasting time and money on seeing it in the theater like I did, it isCaptivating buildup but the ending is totally disappointing. Horrible, wasted opportunity to entertain - it is a fake sci-fi film packaged as a ridiculous love story. Avoid wasting time and money on seeing it in the theater like I did, it is worthy perhaps only as a viewing on Netflix. I feel totally scammed by the professional critic reviews, I really really want a refund and my time back, extremely disappointed. :( Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
9
MixedMessageJan 29, 2017
Look, if you want the Hollywood version with explosions and shooting watch Edge of Tomorrow, which is actually a good movie also. Arrival is an intelligent and beautiful movie, simultaneously a story about the meaning of communication and aLook, if you want the Hollywood version with explosions and shooting watch Edge of Tomorrow, which is actually a good movie also. Arrival is an intelligent and beautiful movie, simultaneously a story about the meaning of communication and a meditation on the value of life and choice. Like all great film you're not the same after seeing it as before. More prosaic and lacking the epic sweep of 2001 (the greatest film ever), reminiscent but more accessible. I've now seen Sicarios and Arrival and I'm sold on Villeneuve - I'm interested in anything he makes now. I have to laugh that the one negative review is from Trump's son-in-law's paper. Imagine a super advanced alien species arriving on Earth and Trump representing us! Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
7
KaptenVideoDec 9, 2016
It’s the end of the world as we know it! A much discussed and sometimes feared story has come true which, honestly, always sounded a bit ridiculous to actually happen in the real world.

I am, of course, talking about this new sci-fi drama
It’s the end of the world as we know it! A much discussed and sometimes feared story has come true which, honestly, always sounded a bit ridiculous to actually happen in the real world.

I am, of course, talking about this new sci-fi drama „Arrival“ where mankind is greeted by huge alien spaceships in the sky who seem to be coming in peace… wait, did you think I was referring to Trump becoming the next leader of the free world?

But yeah, these two events have a very similar plot summary so it’s only fitting that I had the chance to experience them in the very same morning.

Directed by Denis Villeneuve – the man behind „Prisoners“, mindbending „Enemy“ with Jake Gyllenhaal, „Sicario“ and currently filming „Blade Runner“ sequel –, one could expect „Arrival“ to be a thinking person’s sci-fi. And one is not wrong.

It is a 116 minute slow-burner all heavy on atmosphere and light on explosions or any quick thrills. If you wish a quick reference to any recent well-known movies, the result is a bit like Christopher Nolan’s „Interstellar“ crossed with Terrence Malick’s „The Tree of Life“. Robert Zemeckis’s „Contact“ (1997) would not be very far either, because „Arrival“ also focuses on fragile yet brave female protagonist whose quality acting is one of the main pillars carrying the whole experience. The other one would be overall atmosphere, deliciously dark and ominous. Some will like it, others will probably find it depressing and maybe a bit slow for their taste.

I haven’t read the award-winning short story by Ted Chiang that „Arrival“ is based on. Wikipedia says that the major themes explored are determinism, language and Sapir-Whorf hypothesis which sounds mighty dry and mostly sci-fi geek friendly. So it’s nice to witness movie makers adding some mainstream appeal which comes mostly in the form of Amy Adams’s great performance. She truly holds the movie together as a woman going where no-one has ever gone before. You will believe her hesitations, the tears, and also the silent determination when the going gets tough. This kind of role is tricky because of the need to play it out mostly alone, often in close-up where every detail and tone has to be clearly seen and felt. Think Matthew McConaughey's mighty turn in „Interstellar“ but decidedly less showoffish.

So it’s mostly Adams’s one-woman-show, and a quite rare chance to see her doing something memorable and worthwhile on screen. She accepts too many decorative pretty girl roles, even in more ambitious projects. The all-male supporting cast is good too, especially star players such as Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker. As stated above, I don’t know the original story but "Arrival's" message is rather spiritual and not "dry" at all. Essentially it is a reminder that mankind’s future depends heavily on our ability to understand and connect to the world, rather than attacking and overpowering everything we find foreign or downright alien. It’s a call to rise above the inflexible ego-based mind the western society so dearly values, and to find balance with our intuitive side.

Overall, „Arrival“ is a good movie although I wasn’t especially happy with the final act which seemed rushed. It felt like somebody grew impatient near the end and wanted to add something „impressive“ just in case the people were not happy with this slow-moving tale. I do not want to talk about it here in detail but, for me, it lessened some of the movie’s overall impact. Mostly because there was not enough time to play it out as properly as the stuff that had come before.

But yeah, if you are into more intelligent sci-fi and don’t prioritize explosions, „Arrival“ is good to go.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
2
NikolayGFeb 25, 2017
Grossly overrated movie. The plot is nearly non-existent, and what there is makes little sense. Huge questions, such as - Why have the aliens come? - are answered in about 6 words. The screenplay isn't a screenplay; it is a rough sketch, oneGrossly overrated movie. The plot is nearly non-existent, and what there is makes little sense. Huge questions, such as - Why have the aliens come? - are answered in about 6 words. The screenplay isn't a screenplay; it is a rough sketch, one that leaves many story elements undeveloped. Honestly, I don't know what they needed two hours for if this is all they had to deliver. I could, if I wanted (I won't) "spoil" this movie for you in about two sentences, as that's all there is in terms of content. The rest of it is spent on dull shots of the giant floating rock of an alien ship, and repetitive scenes of our cast learning to communicate with the octopus-like aliens. Add two hours to your life and do not see this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
gameplayer85Jan 15, 2017
I was excited too watch the movie after all the hype i heard about it. Now i regret ever watching it. A whole lot of nothing going on in the movie. First 70 minutes and absolutely nothing happens! I'm a fan of the main cast but this movie wasI was excited too watch the movie after all the hype i heard about it. Now i regret ever watching it. A whole lot of nothing going on in the movie. First 70 minutes and absolutely nothing happens! I'm a fan of the main cast but this movie was absolutely dreadful. I kept watching something exciting or something that would make me think would arrive. But nope. You can only watch silent octopus aliens for so long. Use 2hr of your life more wisely and watch something else. If you have a taste for some sci-fi go watch the classics. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
BeeceeNov 14, 2016
The film starts off in an interesting way. An alien race lands in 12 places on earth for an unknown reason. Amy Adams is a linguist who is contacted by the military to communicate with the aliens, with a metallic, spider-like appearance,The film starts off in an interesting way. An alien race lands in 12 places on earth for an unknown reason. Amy Adams is a linguist who is contacted by the military to communicate with the aliens, with a metallic, spider-like appearance, who communicate through circles of ink. The effort to communicate with the aliens is the most interesting part of this film. However, there is a major digression into the private life of Adams' character, and the film goes back and forth over time regarding the daughter's life (who is in the hospital in one scene) - her husband barely appears. The movie is basically unsatisfying and confusing - you never really understand why the aliens came to earth in the first place and why they landed in 12 locations. With the exception of Adams' character, you never really get to know anyone else. There also doesn't seem to be any interactions with people at the other locations. "Contact" was a much better and coherent movie on a similar subject. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
6
faridiNov 18, 2016
Arrival is one of those movies where people think that if you did not think it is a great movie, then it means you did not understand it. The payoff at the end was just barely enough to cover the deficiencies. Getting to the end wasArrival is one of those movies where people think that if you did not think it is a great movie, then it means you did not understand it. The payoff at the end was just barely enough to cover the deficiencies. Getting to the end was difficult. It was super slow. The romance seemed forced. Could have been better. 6/10. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
10
lks2017Feb 5, 2017
A breathtaking film. Fantastic acting, brilliant story. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. One of the most impressive films I have seen in a while now. A must see! All the low reviewers clearly don't know a good movie if it slapped them inA breathtaking film. Fantastic acting, brilliant story. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. One of the most impressive films I have seen in a while now. A must see! All the low reviewers clearly don't know a good movie if it slapped them in the face. Watch it now! Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
9
thedaywalkerFeb 7, 2017
Gotta say this is some brilliant work! I started watching thinking one thing and finished the movie in another state of mind, Amy Adams was breathtaking, the end with such an unexpected twist and still beautiful... they changed the "sic-fi"Gotta say this is some brilliant work! I started watching thinking one thing and finished the movie in another state of mind, Amy Adams was breathtaking, the end with such an unexpected twist and still beautiful... they changed the "sic-fi" of an alien invasion and did something new, where there not so much sic-fi as you would expect from an alien invasion movie Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
10
drawman61Nov 11, 2016
What a moving film. A first contact movie that makes you think rather than just relying on the latest CGI effects. They enhance rather than carry the movie.
Amy Adams is perfect as the interpreter. All her emotions are there to see.
If movie
What a moving film. A first contact movie that makes you think rather than just relying on the latest CGI effects. They enhance rather than carry the movie.
Amy Adams is perfect as the interpreter. All her emotions are there to see.
If movie length CGI battles are your thing then this probably isn't the movie for you.
It's how I would imagine First contact would be like.
Expand
13 of 35 users found this helpful1322
All this user's reviews
0
The918Nov 11, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really looking forward to this movie for a long while. Unfortunately I left the theater with much disappointment. The movie had me going for about 1/2 way or little more, then I started figuring out some things, and really didn't care for how they ended the movie.... weak. The movie could have went so many different ways and could and should have been awesome. As it was... turned out to be a slow, anticlimactic, prophetic love story of sorts, that ends up saving the world with a phone call. Expand
8 of 22 users found this helpful814
All this user's reviews
0
ViajeDec 8, 2016
Don’t waste your time with this unnecessarily protracted pseudo-science-fiction drama about first-contact with aliens. Instead, see 1977’s “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” or even better the classic 1951 original, "The Day the EarthDon’t waste your time with this unnecessarily protracted pseudo-science-fiction drama about first-contact with aliens. Instead, see 1977’s “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” or even better the classic 1951 original, "The Day the Earth Stood Still." Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
9
msmorrNov 19, 2016
I was nearly in tears by the end. For those who say this is what Interstellar wished it could be, you're right. A beautiful, complex story. Amy Adams is fantastic.
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
9
JoeCoolDec 25, 2016
Excellent movie! The jumps in time seem to make it somewhat hard to follow for some, if I can go by reactions I heard from people in the theater. It's a lot better than I expected going in. It' probably the best take on really differentExcellent movie! The jumps in time seem to make it somewhat hard to follow for some, if I can go by reactions I heard from people in the theater. It's a lot better than I expected going in. It' probably the best take on really different aliens I've ever seen. Heptapods, never heard that before. The space ships, the influencing of time, it's different all right. I understand some people being quite confused at the end of it all, but this is just not your generic X-files aliens movie. It's a movie really worth seeing, but you have to keep paying attention to the time jumps, which turn out to be flash-forwards instead of flashbacks, or you're going to be left quite bewildered at the end. If you're looking for something like Independence Day, then you're not going to get what you want. You have been warned. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
6
AxeTNov 26, 2016
On the one hand, yet another damn flick about aliens coming down! On the other, one that is fairly restrained, intelligent and serious with an original thought provoking premise. The slow unraveling mystery is good. The conventions of theOn the one hand, yet another damn flick about aliens coming down! On the other, one that is fairly restrained, intelligent and serious with an original thought provoking premise. The slow unraveling mystery is good. The conventions of the sub-genre that still aren't transcended here are not, nor is some of the sentimentality. Alas it is not that bold after all.

Would a real scientist constantly dealing in mathematics and numbers upon reading .083 say, "point oh eight three" and not "point zero eight three"? If he is played by a sloppy actor taking sloppy direction perhaps. Or such a real scientist saying oh instead of zero might just need to be fired and lose grants.
Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
9
NedRyerson1Jan 21, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Arrival portrayed a whole new approach to a subject seen many times in sci-fi, first contact with extraterrestrial life forms. It is beautiful because not everything leads to war and practically all the answers are with a language expert. The film is based on Ted Chiang’s short tale Story of your Life; the director and screenwriters succeeded taking this great story, but developing a mild yet interesting plot, by adding the pressure of an imminent war (the book is a bit slow and hard to follow without that); deciding to represent the Heptapod’s spaceships like a semicircular shape and the language in a circular form (much more clear that the book). Another great choice was addressing the main conflict from multiple points of view, but keeping doctor Banks in the spotlight, with her own conflicts and the way she embraces this new communication style. One big problem was the way in which it is revealed the gift that learning the language gives, both in book and film are forcibly explicit. So here we face a reflection about clash of different forms of consciousness and the paradox that arises when incorporating free will to the equation. The construction sequence of the movie is very coherent to the developed theme, and it is understandable when the gift is acknowledged. Here Amy Adams consecrates herself within the great actresses of cinema; the rest of the cast is pretty good too. Strong direction, bold script and unsettling score of Johann Johannsson. One of the finest films of the year. Expand
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
8
SkulbJan 23, 2017
The problem with intelligent sci-fi is that it turns off...well, you know what sort of people it turns off. Arrival is a sort of linguistic Independence Day made by someone intelligent. In fact it might even be considered a pioneer movie inThe problem with intelligent sci-fi is that it turns off...well, you know what sort of people it turns off. Arrival is a sort of linguistic Independence Day made by someone intelligent. In fact it might even be considered a pioneer movie in the linguistics sci-fi sub genre. And because the topic of the movie is actually people learning to communicate with an alien species, rather than blowing them up with nuclear bombs like we do in almost every other Hollywood sci-fi, the movie has an odd pace to it. It can also be a little confusing here and there, particularly once the aliens start communicating through ink circles. It's a tough process to sell in the movie medium, but I think the director does a good job of it. And once that's over with Arrival is also an emotionally engaging affair. Although, again, somewhat confusing until the end.
If I have one complaint it is with the usual underlying, globalist political message it ends with. It's all good and well to be politically correct and wish for human unification. But there would be a government then as well, even more remote and out of people's control than the national governments we currently suffer under. Somehow this globalist turd sandwich has to be included in all science fiction that isn't utterly braindead. It's disappointing. I miss the 80s, when independent, private people were the heroes in movies while the government posed as the villain. That seems a lot more healthy to me than what we're getting these days. Always, always more government, bigger government and just an end to all differences between people. Boring. Also dangerous. And sadly the most obvious message in Arrival. On a more ridiculous but less intrusive point, Arrival presents the mad Americans, invaders of the world, as the reasonable ones, while the Chinese and Russians get to play gun toting madmen as usual. Flip the roles and you have a more realistic movie immediately. It's not a big deal and you sort of the expect it from a US propaganda organ like Hollywood. But it's still comical. The USA are not the good guys. I repeat, not the good guys. Sorry if you had to find this out on Metacritic.
Arrival has other, more interesting messages too though, so I guess I'll suffer through the US war propaganda this one time. Diverse subjects like time, suffering and isolation are handled remarkably well. And I don't think it's pretentious either, which is a much repeated criticism of the movie. Although I guess to some everything is pretentious unless you blow things up with nuclear bombs and have comic relief while doing it. And yes, that was another Independence Day reference.
Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
8
WaelJan 22, 2017
Arrival is a solid project that benefits not only from some great directing, but also from a strong plot that comes to genius conclusions, a strong performance from Amy Adams, and an undeniably outstanding score that will absolutely leave youArrival is a solid project that benefits not only from some great directing, but also from a strong plot that comes to genius conclusions, a strong performance from Amy Adams, and an undeniably outstanding score that will absolutely leave you in tears. I wouldn't be surprised if it was nominated for a lot of Oscars. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
9
smodcastJan 22, 2017
Watch this! Watch this! Watch this!
It isn't the best science fiction movie you'll ever watch. But this has gut and heart and soul. This is Denis Villeneuve's best work. And yes, I watched Sicario. But this is.. Watch it.
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
8
Muskrat147Feb 20, 2017
Arrival's deliberately slow pacing may serve as a turnoff for some; but it's incredible bits of tension and terrific performances provide an interesting look into a complex world of grief, love, and wonder.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
0
YomismoKSDec 1, 2016
Es la pelicula mas estupida que le vi en la vida. La BSO mala. Una historia inconexsa. Quiere ser interestelar pero se queda muy corta en calidad.....
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
swingDec 30, 2016
Weird and complex, strangely engrossing, but not entertaining. A big problem was that you couldn't understand what they were saying half the time, but maybe that was a good thing. And, as for meaning, who knows? Certainly no 2001 or CloseWeird and complex, strangely engrossing, but not entertaining. A big problem was that you couldn't understand what they were saying half the time, but maybe that was a good thing. And, as for meaning, who knows? Certainly no 2001 or Close Encounters. I suppose it had something to do with the meaning of life. Unfortunately, too much pat Hollywood story lines as well. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
yashdanMar 5, 2017
I don't understand how this movie got such good reviews!!!
This movie is incredibly stupid and boring!
Not worth watching even if you have time to spare!
Acting - 8
Plot/story - 0
Suspense - 2
Action - 0
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
nellic07Jan 17, 2017
This is not movie about aliens. Aliens are just framework for drama story about woman and her sick future kid.Aliens are extras,there is no suspension in the movie, there is no pace, the end is rushed and without any meaning. Chinese andThis is not movie about aliens. Aliens are just framework for drama story about woman and her sick future kid.Aliens are extras,there is no suspension in the movie, there is no pace, the end is rushed and without any meaning. Chinese and Russians are showed as stupid and those who want war and Americans are showed like smart people.This is movie for pseudo intellectuals.This movie is boring as hell.Don't waste your money for this "look at me, I am 'smart' movie. 0/10 Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
johnsonjohnsonJan 17, 2017
亜有時則是指在伦敦西区上演的戏剧。光業的役所浩二勝俣博山约百老汇剧院經常共同被看作光業的役所浩二勝俣博山是英语世界中最高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区的演出已经成为觀光業光業的役所浩二勝俣博山的役所浩二勝俣博山崎健藺生小林高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区光光業的役所浩二勝俣博山業的役所浩二勝俣博山。亜有時則是指在伦敦西区上演的戏剧。光業的役所浩二勝俣博山约百老汇剧院經常共同被看作光業的役所浩二勝俣博山是英语世界中最高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区的演出已经成为觀光業光業的役所浩二勝俣博山的役所浩二勝俣博山崎健藺生小林高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区光光業的役所浩二勝俣博山業的役所浩二勝俣博山。
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
Bo33yJan 26, 2017
I don't know about that future, intuition becomes squid worth, they traveled in giant bananas, communicating in bubbles and spraying ink.. Square Pants. A snooze fest that had some Syfi connecting that language, but the rest of it wasI don't know about that future, intuition becomes squid worth, they traveled in giant bananas, communicating in bubbles and spraying ink.. Square Pants. A snooze fest that had some Syfi connecting that language, but the rest of it was propaganda. A pat on the back for World Pieces or Peace, in the attempted language of the octopods. No purrs there. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
psyberdelicFeb 14, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slow and nonsensical. Learning the aliens language allows you to see the future? Time travel in your day-dreams? Everybody's stupid but the heroine? Subtitles for the alien's language? Close Encounters did a vastly superior job of imagining first contact. I fast-forwarded through most of it just to see if the positive reviews made any sense. Nope. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
NegatiwFeb 5, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had so many high expectations from this movie, but they all fell into the drain after the end of the movie. I expected it to be a mystery, a good Sci-Fi movie, but it was completely and utterly boring. I know, there are some psychological and existential implications to the movie, but damn, it wasn't what I expected. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
ourtimehascomeMar 11, 2017
Unlike other sci-fi extra-terrestrial first contact films, Arrival is much slower paced. It focuses on contemplation, thought rather than action. That is not a bad thing, and in fact bodes well for the tone. It manages to be both suspensefulUnlike other sci-fi extra-terrestrial first contact films, Arrival is much slower paced. It focuses on contemplation, thought rather than action. That is not a bad thing, and in fact bodes well for the tone. It manages to be both suspenseful and intriguing, though it has the potential to expect more from its audience. I see many similarities between Villeneuve and Christopher Nolan; both of whom create visually striking scenes with a deep story to back it up. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
SerengetiFeb 4, 2017
I was really disappointed in this movie. It didn't make a whole lot of sense to me. The premise was totally fabulous, but I don't think the story lived up to the promise the original idea promised. The biggest disappointment of all was theI was really disappointed in this movie. It didn't make a whole lot of sense to me. The premise was totally fabulous, but I don't think the story lived up to the promise the original idea promised. The biggest disappointment of all was the appearance of the alien life forms. I thought it was just completely stupid to make them look the way they did. For me, this movie was a total bust. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
OsmarCamposFeb 12, 2017
The movie is just a non sense trailer with non sense flashbacks, it's an argue who starts good and finish with a non sense... thing, the director just make and experiment with a wrong trama
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
georgex72Nov 11, 2016
A deep movie, not for those who are looking for special effects of a modern sci-fi genre. This movie is for all the others who want to feel and to immerse into the noble and greater ideals of humanity within the new coming era.
12 of 38 users found this helpful1226
All this user's reviews
3
roscoeswaffleNov 13, 2016
Blather.
Mumbo-jumbo.
If you understand these two simple terms in English (as opposed to heptapod), there is no reason to see this movie--I've just summed it up for you. Huge disappointment. Love the director, cut my teeth on sci fi. Still,
Blather.
Mumbo-jumbo.
If you understand these two simple terms in English (as opposed to heptapod), there is no reason to see this movie--I've just summed it up for you.
Huge disappointment. Love the director, cut my teeth on sci fi. Still, I'd have been better off staying home and bingeing on The Crown.
Expand
10 of 32 users found this helpful1022
All this user's reviews
10
AbbottNov 11, 2016
All I can say is WOW!
I sincerely blew me away. Caught me off guard and got intended reaction to poignant and powerful film. They don't make them like this anymore. Prisoners astonished me, Sicario impressed me and Arrival blew me away.
10 of 32 users found this helpful1022
All this user's reviews
0
CameraBounceGodNov 20, 2016
the thought of amy adams having magical dreams ............................................................................................i might not even see this
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
6
Douglas56Dec 2, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much has been said of Amy Adams's acting in this film. The praise is richly deserved but that's where the accolades should end. Great acting rarely makes great films and this movie is not great, despite my sincerest desire for it to be so. Greatness in theatre or cinema usually requires great characters (or less often, a highly original storyline). Arrival has neither and Adams's character, the linguist Louise Banks, who dominates the screen time, is little more than a sketch for a oil painting Villeneuve and his writers are unable to complete. The film has been hyped by the critics as a serious, intellectual alien encounter sci-fi that outshines all the comic book treatments of this trope. It's certainly serious but rather brainless at the same time. The science is minimal ("hey, I've discovered that 0.0833 recurring is 1 divided by 12") and the linguistics a mere ornament. But worse than that, it's a little boring. The social commentary is unremarkable, the philosophical content hackneyed ("hey I've discovered that love conquers all") and the ending a hasty conclusion to a fabricated tease. That's two disappointing films in a row for Villeneuve—hardly a good omen for the Blade Runner sequel. Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
0
AutisticNov 13, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "I've almost forgotten how it feels like to hug you"

Arrival probably the Oscar winner! I think so.I want to start from the beginning of the film.It starts not with flashback or with present time,it starts with flashforward,but on that moment I thought that its flashback...

So,the film beginning is about Amy Adams daughter and its about how she died..Amy Adams life changes when colonel Weber comes for her help.
All film main heroes trying to translate,but if you think that its true-you are the fool,because all film-show about Amy Adams character fight with herself and her minds.

And I want to give you an advice,if you are reading this and wavering between the desire to go and to wait for the release on disc,i suggest you to do both things.Even for me the end twist and the ending in general is very incomprehensible,because of that twists with time.

But with that twists film becomes better.

I think its 10/10 and its future Oscar winner
Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
9
NerdConsultantNov 12, 2016
I really, really enjoyed this film, Arrival is a very innovative and smart science fiction film. This had some great writing, fantastic cinematography, some really good performances and plot twists that will really warrant repeat viewings.I really, really enjoyed this film, Arrival is a very innovative and smart science fiction film. This had some great writing, fantastic cinematography, some really good performances and plot twists that will really warrant repeat viewings. It has been so difficult to talk about this without going into spoilers, but I think this film is coming out at the right time for the right audience and it tells a very interesting story that will resonate with a lot of people. I would say, for the visual flair alone, this is one film to try and see on a cinema screen since I don’t think it will play as well on a Television screen. It’s really cool, really interesting and I don’t think there will be another film like it for the rest of the year. Check this one out. Expand
9 of 29 users found this helpful920
All this user's reviews