• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Nov 30, 2018
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 275 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 275
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2018
    9
    Earl Sweatshirt returns after three years to deliver Some Rap Songs, a short, to the point album filled with his incredible lyricism as well as production. Through 15 tracks over 25 minutes, Earl details his mind state over the past few years, dealing with his depression and loss of his dad and uncle. Heavily influenced by the dusty, looping samples of J.Dilla and Madlib, Earl effortlessEarl Sweatshirt returns after three years to deliver Some Rap Songs, a short, to the point album filled with his incredible lyricism as well as production. Through 15 tracks over 25 minutes, Earl details his mind state over the past few years, dealing with his depression and loss of his dad and uncle. Heavily influenced by the dusty, looping samples of J.Dilla and Madlib, Earl effortless breezes through each one but gives listeners enough to decipher that rewards multiple listens. His voice sometimes gets lost in these samples, like he is rapping through them instead of on top of them but it creates the distinct atmosphere of Earl simply making some rap songs.

    And amazing ones at that.

    Favorites: December 24, Red Waters, The Mint, Riot!
    Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2018
    9
    Took me few listens to really enjoy this album, but if you give it a chance you will probably enjoy it. Earl tried something new with this album and I think that it's captivating. The beats are the way they are so you focus more on the lyricism over the beats. If you focus on the lyrics you will eventually be all over the album. It's been on repeat since it dropped for me.
  3. Nov 30, 2018
    9
    It's 24 minutes, but it is without a doubt Earl Sweatshirt's best album to date. He brings a sound and style to his music that we have not heard before but still retains the quintessential Earl that we have heard on his other two albums.

    The first listen may be difficult for some, however a second and third listen prove much easier to pay close attention to and hear all of the unique
    It's 24 minutes, but it is without a doubt Earl Sweatshirt's best album to date. He brings a sound and style to his music that we have not heard before but still retains the quintessential Earl that we have heard on his other two albums.

    The first listen may be difficult for some, however a second and third listen prove much easier to pay close attention to and hear all of the unique sounds that Earl uses throughout this short journey into jazz and lo-fi territory. Highly recommend. Contender for best hip hop album of the year.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2018
    10
    Can't get over the feeling like this is an extension of J Dilla's Donuts....I play the whole thing through on repeat like Donuts too and find something new to love about it each time.
  5. Dec 7, 2018
    9
    A experience that challenges the listener. Very influenced by underground hip-hop and by the recent events in earl's life, creating great sounds and lyrics.
  6. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    An incredibly groundbreaking, deeply disturbing, and brief look into the life and feelings of Earl Sweatshirt. I have nothing but great things to say about this masterpiece!
  7. Dec 5, 2018
    9
    This album is beautiful and depressing. I am very addicted to it at the moment.
    I love all the unique instrumentals and lyrics. My favourite songs from this album right now are probably Nowhere2go, Eclipse and Ontheway!
  8. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    This album is a modern masterpiece. It is a slightly different sound to Earl’s older music, but it is
    definitely a new, accepted style from Earl.
  9. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    This album was an immaculate masterpiece from start to finish. It is some of Earl Sweatshirt's best work since Doris. this is definitely album of the year. there is not a single track on this project that i did not have problems with or liked at all.
  10. Dec 3, 2018
    8
    This will probably end up being one of the most important albums this year and maybe this decade. Showing the industry that you don't need 1h30min album, or a 5minute song to paint a complete picture.

    Although the distorted style production, won't please a lot of people, it even took me a while to appreciate, even though, i still think it doesn't fit in some songs. But the production is
    This will probably end up being one of the most important albums this year and maybe this decade. Showing the industry that you don't need 1h30min album, or a 5minute song to paint a complete picture.

    Although the distorted style production, won't please a lot of people, it even took me a while to appreciate, even though, i still think it doesn't fit in some songs. But the production is something i've never heard before, with the distorted like beats, showing us that Earl is lost and showing a whole new concept of depression in musically, bringing jazz/hip-hop to a whole new level.

    But if you don't enjoy the production, Earl's lyrics also make it count, the songs being very short, Earl rides, those beats, with great flows, and great lyrics, telling us what you can call it "short stories".

    The album doesn't come without it's small issues, but Earl has managed to deliver one of the best, and for some, even the best album of the year

    Favorite tracks: Shattered Dreams, Nowhere2go, December 24, The Mint, The Bends, Azucar, Veins
    Least Favorite Tracks: Red Water, Playing Possum
    Expand
  11. Dec 3, 2018
    10
    A collection of songs where Earl somehow manages to only speak when necessary, leaving the listener amazed about how so little could mean so much. Earl produces 9 of the 15 tracks on this possible AOTY candidate and leaves a listener in a daze from how great his rhymes, production and lyricism are. Definitely proving himself to be the best rapper of his generation.
  12. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    Thank you fath for making some gud rap songs. fav tracks= shattered dreams, nowhere2go, ontheway, the mint, azucar, peanut, riot
  13. Dec 4, 2018
    7
    Earl talking about depression and the production match the feeling, we can see how the last 3 years has been difficult. The only reason, i give this album a seven instead of a 9 is the mixing of the album. Sometimes the beat takes over his voice and for me it is important to hear Earl because of his lyrics. For the production, we really see a Knxwledge, Madlib influences.
  14. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    I could see how you don't like this album, but it is a beautiful 25 minutes and something I wasn't expecting from Earl.
  15. Jan 20, 2019
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. near masterpiece of an album. Lyrically, Earl is as sharp as ever, his words carrying the awesome depth he is renowned for, his flows are innovative and carefully crafted, and his delivery is poignant, but where this project really stands out is in groundbreaking production. This, however, is also a point that is sure to stir a great deal of discord. Where some willAbsolutely brilliant. near masterpiece of an album. Lyrically, Earl is as sharp as ever, his words carrying the awesome depth he is renowned for, his flows are innovative and carefully crafted, and his delivery is poignant, but where this project really stands out is in groundbreaking production. This, however, is also a point that is sure to stir a great deal of discord. Where some will find it cutting-edge, lush, and perpetually alluring due to its auditory range, others will find it lazily executed and cobbled together due to the short track lengths, tight, compact mixing, and lo-fi aesthetic. Also, the avant-garde nature of this project will inherently bring its fair-share of detractors, and many simply will not be able to understand the soundscapes that Earl has crafted. Simply put, this album sounds nothing like any other album ever released (including, and especially Earl's own), within the hip hop genre and elsewhere, and stands at only 24 minutes long, despite having 15 tracks. The instrumentals throughout the project are lo-fi (as previously stated), sample-heavy, detailed, meticulously concocted, and altogether decidedly difficult to properly describe. At times they are clunky and disjointed, at others they are velvety and sleek, and everything in-between. There is a great deal of warmth in some, and in others a cold despondence, and this spectrum makes for an abundance of sonic diversity throughout. Overall, an open-minded listener who appreciates lyricism and conceptually and who is a Madlib fan (this is not required in order to enjoy Some Rap Songs, though), is in for an absolute treat, others, however, may be turned off by the experimentality of it. As someone who identifies with the former class, I was floored. This is one of, if not the album of the year, undoubtedly. Expand
  16. Nov 30, 2018
    10
    Dilla? Madlib? DOOM? Which one is it? Earl Sweatshirt seemed to have beautifully meshed those three into one album—a dark and unsettling one at that. The production and the lyrics go hand in hand and it seems that he certainly perfected the sonic landscape and overall "vibe" of what he was trying to achieve. This album is one that will polarize hip-hop heads just like To Pimp a Butterfly.Dilla? Madlib? DOOM? Which one is it? Earl Sweatshirt seemed to have beautifully meshed those three into one album—a dark and unsettling one at that. The production and the lyrics go hand in hand and it seems that he certainly perfected the sonic landscape and overall "vibe" of what he was trying to achieve. This album is one that will polarize hip-hop heads just like To Pimp a Butterfly. All in all this album is a great piece of music... Its short and sweet.

    Favorite tracks:
    Cold Summers, The Bends, Azucar, Veins, and Riot!
    Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2018
    8
    Lyrics are the best Earl's ever had and though it would sound better cleanly produced, the shaky production fits with the sinking and confused feeling of the album. Themes of family and death make the album emotionally stronger.
  18. Dec 1, 2018
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. Everything from the beautiful production to the overall MADVILLAINY inspired sound really blew me away. Earl has managed to put together an experimental album that packs and punch and gives listeners an insight into Earl's psyche.
  19. Dec 2, 2018
    9
    Some Rap Songs is, in short, a phenomenal album. Earl has evolved his sound like never before, taking the general direction of loosies and snippets like Wind in My Sails and Hat Trick, and running with it. The resulting work of art is a deep, thoughtful, and difficult to digest one that requires many listens to truly sink one's teeth into.

    Watching Earl evolve over the years has been an
    Some Rap Songs is, in short, a phenomenal album. Earl has evolved his sound like never before, taking the general direction of loosies and snippets like Wind in My Sails and Hat Trick, and running with it. The resulting work of art is a deep, thoughtful, and difficult to digest one that requires many listens to truly sink one's teeth into.

    Watching Earl evolve over the years has been an exciting process. The hot and bothered astronaut we knew years ago is gone, as is the troubled youth trying to find his place in the world, and the poet who neither liked **** or going outside; instead we find a significantly matured Earl struggling to find peace in his relationship with his recently deceased father, and, thusly, himself.
    Expand
  20. Dec 1, 2018
    10
    masterpice, possibly album of the year. Earl has proved himself to be one this generation's best.
  21. Dec 5, 2018
    4
    I'm not going to go into song specifics, but the album was descent. I really like the style that Earl uses in this album and the brief and short tracks appeal to me. However, his lyrical game wasn't there and many times it seemed as though he was repeating himself unintentionally. The lyrics were also fairly blunt, they didn't bring anything to the table as the expression goes. TheI'm not going to go into song specifics, but the album was descent. I really like the style that Earl uses in this album and the brief and short tracks appeal to me. However, his lyrical game wasn't there and many times it seemed as though he was repeating himself unintentionally. The lyrics were also fairly blunt, they didn't bring anything to the table as the expression goes. The instrumentals were good and definitely did not hurt the album's quality. Overall, he could have done better, but it isn't that bad, so I won't criticize it more. Expand
  22. Dec 1, 2018
    3
    I'm a huge fan of Earl, but this sounds like a low quality mixtape with just random verses thrown on random sounds and beats. Kind of disappointed that I had to wait 3 years for this.
  23. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    Unfortunately does nothing for me. A competent rap devoid of any genuine courage to push boundaries in his subject matter. Awful
  24. Dec 5, 2018
    3
    Anyone that says this album is 'revolutionary' or even good are lying and are sad that they had to wait 3 years for it. I am sorry but it's not risky this album, it's just bad and boring and a total drag to listen to.
  25. Dec 6, 2018
    7
    Always enjoyed Earl's stuff. I always dig the vibe to it and when he released a single, I was hyped. After I was done listening to it, I enjoyed a lot more than I thought.
  26. Dec 12, 2018
    0
    This album, in my opinion, does nothing. No good lyrics, no good beats. Come to expect this of him. Will not play this again.
  27. Dec 25, 2018
    9
    Sweatshirt's introspective mood, almost-organic and lo-fi sampling plus different textures in a narrow less 30-minute lenght makes this album good.
  28. Feb 18, 2019
    10
    This album has few features. Instead Earl evokes an intimate but not melodramatic feel and a barebones sound that serves to evoke joy. He doesn't downplay himself but exposes his true state of being at the point in his life when it was made. Lines like "I chose substances" would prove damning if Earl had not solidified his 3 dimensional, flawed yet somehow idolic nature on this album. TheThis album has few features. Instead Earl evokes an intimate but not melodramatic feel and a barebones sound that serves to evoke joy. He doesn't downplay himself but exposes his true state of being at the point in his life when it was made. Lines like "I chose substances" would prove damning if Earl had not solidified his 3 dimensional, flawed yet somehow idolic nature on this album. The impressive part is how entertaining it proves to be while still being grounded. It is the least show-offy rap album I can remember listening to and as a result Earl is able to invite the listener into a wide array of genres with soul being at the core. It was as if Earl denied any expectations for bravado and instead chose to make something slower and expository of how he reached where he is now without a 1 step solution for how the listener should live life. Riot ends up having a celebratory feel to it. Overall the album isn't one that should be played at a deafaning decible range. It's good at a regular volume. Expand
  29. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    This rating system sucks. Why won't it let me give this spectacular album an 11?
  30. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    This album is simply fantastic on all levels. Earl Sweatshirt is at the top of his game.
  31. Dec 21, 2018
    10
    One of the best albums of the year, released 3 years after Earls magnum opus "i don't like **** i don't go outside". SRS is an experimental and mellow, jazzy and dark, short but sweet fully packed album. Even though its just around 25 minutes it gets its message across. It was hard to guess what the album was going to be like when the single "Nowhere2go" came, i wondered how a song likeOne of the best albums of the year, released 3 years after Earls magnum opus "i don't like **** i don't go outside". SRS is an experimental and mellow, jazzy and dark, short but sweet fully packed album. Even though its just around 25 minutes it gets its message across. It was hard to guess what the album was going to be like when the single "Nowhere2go" came, i wondered how a song like this would fit into an Earl Sweatshirt album, Thebe has always been a cryptic and dark rapper, one of the best lyricist and all around musicians still alive in the hip hop game. It could be a little hard to get into the album if you have not liked/listened to past Earl albums and/or experimental rap. Expand
  32. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    I think, to say the least, I Don't Like **** felt in a way, inaccessible at first, it does not want to be a commercial effort at all, I remember not liking it at first, but the album grew on me and is now one of my favorite albums of the decade. So, when Earl was teasing the album, I was very excited, but I should have remembered exactly what happened with IDLSIDGO, because what this albumI think, to say the least, I Don't Like **** felt in a way, inaccessible at first, it does not want to be a commercial effort at all, I remember not liking it at first, but the album grew on me and is now one of my favorite albums of the decade. So, when Earl was teasing the album, I was very excited, but I should have remembered exactly what happened with IDLSIDGO, because what this album did to me is tenfold. When the album leaked, I was actually disgusted in a way, I couldn't hear Earl's vocals, everything felt "musty" and foreign, but it grew on me, immensely, and became my AOTY right next to Daytona. When this album released, the reaction was very polarizing, a lot of people hated it, and I understand why, this is not an album to fall in love with at first listen, similar to Madvillainy in a sense, when you first listen to it you're a bit confused, but the core of this album is nothing but Madvillainy like people say, instead of being Madlib's wet dream, I feel like the beats are more Dilla, and the beats, though repetitive, are colorful and diverse. The shortness of the songs are exactly what negate the repetitiveness, if some of these beats dragged on for 3-4 minutes I would actually die of boredom, but the brevity of the songs prevent this... Earl's lyricism is still at it's peak, he's not a word ninja spitting "Hop Bop Clappity Slop Knop" or some **** it feels more like a poem. To some a major label artist releasing this may seem obscure, a bold move, but it isn't, it's just Earl doing what he wants to do, and that's what music needs. Expand
  33. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Earl's three year hiatus is broken to deliver this masterpiece "Some Rap Songs". This album incorporates Avant-garde jazz, with each track full of samples. It feels slow, and kind of distant, but with a hopeful feeling. The raw vocals and stripped back lyrics provide a beautiful sonic experience, which not many records can claim to have
  34. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Earls latest Album, is easily his most experimental and personal. Using unorthodox forms of mixing and sampling (reminds me of madlib) along with earls amazing lyricism this is easily his best and most intresting work to date.
  35. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    The cohesiveness of SRS is something very special. Its imperfections only make it stronger considering the lyrical content, which deal with imperfection. The album cover, a call back to Earl feeling like there’s endless commotion around him via the Mr. Krabs meme, is also endearing. The production is rough but in a precise way. The concise lengths allow for repeat, repeat, repeat listen.The cohesiveness of SRS is something very special. Its imperfections only make it stronger considering the lyrical content, which deal with imperfection. The album cover, a call back to Earl feeling like there’s endless commotion around him via the Mr. Krabs meme, is also endearing. The production is rough but in a precise way. The concise lengths allow for repeat, repeat, repeat listen. The project bleeds with sincerity and shows a great maturity in his path. Expand
  36. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    this is amazing, love it or hate it this man is a reincarnation of mf doom, the samples, the bars, damn.
  37. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    This album says everything it needs to say, nothing more. As soon as the last song closes, the listener feels satisfied with the surreal, emotional, and provocative experience that Earl Sweatshirt presents with this album. Three years in the making and I couldn't be happier with the result.
  38. Feb 3, 2019
    8
    Some Rap Songs is Earl Sweatshirt's most emotionally intense and artistically defined project yet.

    FAV TRACKS: RED WATER, COLD SUMMERS, NOWHERE2GO, ONTHEWAY!, THE MINT, AZUCAR, VEINS, PLAYING POSSUM, PEANUT

    LEAST FAV TRACK: SHATTERED DREAMS
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The Wire
    Jan 25, 2019
    70
    It’s hard to get with the tiresome self-deprecation of that album title, the way he hides his pain behind a smile and hides his smile behind a dope aesthetic on that artfully blurred cover. When Earl does choose to project beyond his navel he has a powerful, booming voice and an ear for novelty. Where his gaze shifts to the outside world he can be inspirational. [Feb 2019, p.56]
  2. Mojo
    Jan 23, 2019
    80
    By combining the searing intimacy of a boombox-constructed mixtape with progressive and delirious bars, Earl's third album offers a rare kind of insight, sagacious from a 24-year-old. [Mar 2019, p.80]
  3. Dec 20, 2018
    90
    For all its signs of progression, the record is never heavy-handed with its ambition. Its unforced attempt at making sense of the fraught present, at finding shelter without resorting to convenient escape, is a rare and, dare I say, sincere feat.